Thailand’s National Park system starts annual seasonal closures

The Department of National Parks, Wildlife and Plant Conservation (DNP) has started its annual seasonal closure of several Thailand’s National Parks nationwide.

1200px-Khaochangphuak_06 FB

Several attractions are closed every year for a certain period, depending on weather and park conditions. The closure is often due to extreme weather, especially during the rainy season, that may create unsafe conditions and allows for some ecological recovery time.

Mr. Yuthasak Supasorn, TAT Governor, said: “Natural rejuvenation is a key to preserving the biodiversity and pristine quality of Thailand’s amazing nature and natural resources. I believe that closing off several attractions for certain months during the rainy season demonstrates Thailand’s commitment to ensure sustainable environmental management of the country’s valuable nature heritage.”

Thailand currently has a total of 147 national parks, covering an area in excess of  70,000 square kilometres or 13.64 per cent of the land area of the country. Of the total, there are 59 national parks in the North, 43 in the South, 25 in the Northeast, and 20 in the Central, Western and Eastern Regions.

This year, the DNP will close attractions in 66 national parks nationwide, including in 24 in the North, 28 in the South, nine in the Northeast, and five in the Central, Western and Eastern Regions.

In the North, access to many of the region’s scenic waterfalls will be closed, and in the south, popular scuba-diving destinations including the Similan and Surin Islands will be closed.

A full list of the parks affected can be found on the TAT Newsroom.

For more information:
Department of National Parks, Wildlife and Plant Conservation
Click here for the digital manual of Thailand’s National Parks.

Koh Ha Jacks and soft coral_2_14 1200



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *